The 2019 BNP Paribas Open ushered in the 30th year of ATP Masters 1000 tennis, with Dominic Thiem claiming his first title at the elite level. The series, which debuted in 1990, features the best men’s tennis players at nine top tournaments on the ATP calendar. Champions at Masters 1000 events earn 1,000 ATP Rankings points.

Tournament  City 2019 Dates Defending Champion
BNP Paribas Open Indian Wells 7-17 March Juan Martin del Potro
Miami Open presented by Itau Miami 20-31 March John Isner 
Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters Monte-Carlo 14-21 April Rafael Nadal
Mutua Madrid Open Madrid 5-12 May Alexander Zverev 
Internazionali BNL d’Italia Rome 12-19 May Rafael Nadal
Coupe Rogers Montreal 5-11 August Rafael Nadal
Western & Southern Open Cincinnati 11-18 August Novak Djokovic 
Rolex Shanghai Masters Shanghai  6-13 October  Novak Djokovic 
Rolex Paris Masters Paris  28 Oct – 3 Nov  Karen Khachanov

2019 marks the 30th year of ATP Masters 1000 tennis. There have been 66 different champions crowned in 261 events since the series began in 1990. Only six players have won more than 10 Masters 1000 titles. Rafael Nadal leads the way with 33 following a trio of Masters 1000 titles in 2018, while Novak Djokovic has 32.

 Player Titles
Rafael Nadal 33
Novak Djokovic 32
Roger Federer 27
Andre Agassi 17
Andy Murray 14
Pete Sampras 11

Entering the 2019 BNP Paribas Open, Roger Federer leads Masters 1000 win leaders, but Rafael Nadal has a chance to overtake the Swiss with his run in Indian Wells. Stan Wawrinka is in position to enter the leaderboard and pass BNP Paribas Open Tournament Director Tommy Haas. Wawrinka has a 143-98 record at ATP Masters 1000 events with one title (2014 Monte-Carlo).

Player W-L Titles
Roger Federer 368-105 27
Rafael Nadal  366-77 33 
Novak Djokovic 333-74  32 
Andy Murray 212-81  14 
Andre Agassi  209-73  17
Tomas Berdych 191-117
Pete Sampras 190-70 11
David Ferrer 186-120
Andy Roddick  157-70  5
Tommy Haas  144-107  1


Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan dominate the titles leaderboard for the Masters 1000 tournaments. 
City Singles Doubles
Indian Wells Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer (5) Mark Knowles, Daniel Nestor (4)
Miami Andre Agassi, Novak Djokovic (6) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (5)
Monte-Carlo Rafael Nadal (11)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6) 
Madrid Rafael Nadal (5) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (5)
Rome Rafael Nadal (8) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)
Canada Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal (4) Mahesh Bhupathi, Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (5) 
Cincinnati  Roger Federer (7)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Shanghai  Novak Djokovic (4) Marcelo Melo (3)
Paris Novak Djokovic (4) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)

: Seven players have won their first Masters 1000 title over the past 15 series events:
Alexander Zverev (2017 Rome)
Grigor Dimitrov (2017 Cincinnati)
Jack Sock (2017 Paris)
Juan Martin del Potro (2018 Indian Wells)
John Isner (2018 Miami)
Karen Khachanov (2018 Paris)
Dominic Thiem (2019 Indian Wells)

In the 78 ATP Masters 1000 events prior to 2017 Rome, six players won their first Masters 1000 title:
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2008 Paris)
Ivan Ljubicic (2010 Indian Wells)
Robin Soderling (2010 Paris)
David Ferrer (2012 Paris)
Stan Wawrinka (2014 Monte-Carlo)
Marin Cilic (2016 Cincinnati).

During the stretch from 2008 Madrid through 2017 Madrid, Novak Djokovic (26), Rafael Nadal (18), Andy Murray (13) and Roger Federer (12) combined to capture 69 of the 78 Masters 1000 titles (88.5%).