Wimbledon and the weeks leading up to it are like no other time of the year and thanks to a longer, full grass court season, you no longer have to be among the lucky few to get Wimbledon tickets to experience it. There are grass court tournaments all over the country in the lead-up to Wimbledon, all boasting top level men’s and women’s tennis.

As well as major ATP and WTA events at Queen’s, Nottingham, Birmingham and Eastbourne, the Aegon Trophy Series includes men’s, women’s and combined grass court tournaments in Manchester, Surbiton and Ilkley this summer.

Aegon Trophy events currently offer a prize money pool of $300,000 and the vast majority of those competing will also be in action at Wimbledon just a few weeks later. Many of them will be ranked inside the top 100 and the roster of those who played Trophy events in 2015 include the likes of former Australian Open finalist Marcos Baghdatis, big serving Australian Sam Groth, WTA star Annika Beck and doubles legends Cara Black and Lisa Raymond.

These tournaments can also be the perfect places to spot talent. Take Ilkley for example – last year’s men’s singles winner Denis Kudla went on to reach the fourth round at Wimbledon, while women’s champion Anna-Lena Friedsam reached the fourth round of this year’s Australian Open.

There’s more good news coming for British tennis fans in 2017, when that prize money pool at Trophy Series events will be doubled to $600,000. That means the current men’s ATP Challenger Aegon Manchester Trophy will become a $100,000 ITF women’s event, while Surbiton and Ilkley will see their prize money doubled to $200,000 each as they host joint ATP Challenger and ITF Women’s Pro Circuit events.

So, find your nearest grass court tournament, apply some sunscreen and enjoy the green, green grass closer to home.

For your chance to win a grass court coaching session, semi-final tickets and Wimbledon Slazenger tournament balls at the Aegon Trophy events in Manchester, Surbiton and Ilkley, simply answer the question below by filling in the form on the right hand side of this page. 

Which of the following did not win an ATP Challenger Aegon Trophy event in 2015?
a) Denis Kudla
b) Taylor Fritz
c) Matt Ebden

The closing date for entries is May 20. Three lucky readers will each receive two semi-final tickets, a grass court coaching session for two people on the morning of the semi-finals and two cans of official tournament balls at the Aegon Trophy events in Manchester, Ilkley and Surbiton. No cash alternative will be provided. Tennishead terms and conditions apply.


This competition is no longer open for entries. The winner has been drawn from all the correct entries received by the closing date.